Annual Award for OSSD Member Publication in the Biology of Sex Differences

BioMed Central, publisher of Biology of Sex Differences, and the OSSD have established an annual award to highlight the best research published in the journal by OSSD members. The prize will be awarded to the article that is deemed most worthy in terms of novelty, general interest and significance, by the journal's Editor-in-Chief, Jane Reckelhoff, and an accompanying panel of researchers. The prize will be a waiver of the article processing charge (APC) for a future publication in the journal, and £100 Amazon voucher. The prize for 2018 will be awarded to an article published between 1st January 2018 and 31st December 2018. Research articles from all members of the OSSD are welcome.

Please contact Art Arnold for further information: [email protected].

Download the Award Announcement

Annual BSD Award Winners:

2017:  Dr. Joanna Floros for the paper by George Noutsios, Nithyananda Thorenoor, Xuesheng Zhang, David Phelps, Todd Umstead, Faryal Durrani, Joanna Floros; SP-A2 contributes to miRNA-mediated sex differences in response to oxidative stress:  pro-inflammatory, anti-apoptotic, and anti-oxidant pathways are involvedBiology of Sex Differences 2017, 8:37 (22 June 2017)

2016: Dr. Patricia Silveyra for the paper by Vikas Mishra, Susan L DiAngelo, Patricia Silveyra; Sex-specific IL-6-associated signaling activation in ozone-induced lung inflammationBiology of Sex Differences 2016, 7:16 (5 March 2016)

2015:  Dr. Jaclyn Schwarz for the paper by Caitlin K Posillico, Laurne S Terasaki, Staci D Bilbo, Jaclyn M Schwarz;  Examination of sex and minocycline treatment on acute morphine-induced analgesia and inflammatory gene expression along the pain pathway in Sprague-Dawley rats.  Biology of Sex Differences 2015, 6:33 (15 December 2015)

2014:  Dr. John Stallone for the paper by Rachel R Deer, John N Stallone;  Effects of age and sex on cerebrovascular function in the rat middle cerebral artery.  Biology of Sex Differences 2014, 5:12 (11 September 2014)

Art Arnold, former Editor-in-Chief of Biology of Sex Differences, presents Joanna Floros with the 2017 OSSD Member BSD Publication Award.