Best Poster Award at OSSD Meeting from Biology of Sex Differences

Starting in 2019, Biology of Sex Differences will be changing their annual publication prize to a best poster prize. The winner will be selected by Editors from the journal at the OSSD annual meeting. This change is being made in order to better highlight and support work being done by some of the younger investigators attending the meeting. Winners will be announced after the meeting and will be featured in an blog post highlighting their work. They will also receive an APC waiver for their next submission to the journal.

Please contact Jane Reckelhoff for further information: [email protected]


Annual BSD Award Winners:

2017:  Dr. Joanna Floros for the paper by George Noutsios, Nithyananda Thorenoor, Xuesheng Zhang, David Phelps, Todd Umstead, Faryal Durrani, Joanna Floros; SP-A2 contributes to miRNA-mediated sex differences in response to oxidative stress:  pro-inflammatory, anti-apoptotic, and anti-oxidant pathways are involvedBiology of Sex Differences 2017, 8:37 (22 June 2017)

2016: Dr. Patricia Silveyra for the paper by Vikas Mishra, Susan L DiAngelo, Patricia Silveyra; Sex-specific IL-6-associated signaling activation in ozone-induced lung inflammationBiology of Sex Differences 2016, 7:16 (5 March 2016)

2015:  Dr. Jaclyn Schwarz for the paper by Caitlin K Posillico, Laurne S Terasaki, Staci D Bilbo, Jaclyn M Schwarz;  Examination of sex and minocycline treatment on acute morphine-induced analgesia and inflammatory gene expression along the pain pathway in Sprague-Dawley rats.  Biology of Sex Differences 2015, 6:33 (15 December 2015)

2014:  Dr. John Stallone for the paper by Rachel R Deer, John N Stallone;  Effects of age and sex on cerebrovascular function in the rat middle cerebral artery.  Biology of Sex Differences 2014, 5:12 (11 September 2014)

Art Arnold, former Editor-in-Chief of Biology of Sex Differences, presents Joanna Floros with the 2017 OSSD Member BSD Publication Award.