OSSD Awards

The OSSD is deeply committed to the advancement and support of trainee members.  The OSSD currently offers numerous awards to trainees including the Florence P. Haseltine Best Poster AwardsElizabeth Young New Investigator Award, and Virtual Travel, and First Time Attendee, to support a diverse attendance our annual meeting.  Trainees that are the presenting author and are currently or choose to become a member of the society can apply for these awards at the time of abstract submission, prior to the annual meeting. These award categories will be decided prior to the meeting by the Awards Committee, based on the abstracts that are submitted. We will also offer Poster Awards, which will be decided at the meeting based on evaluation of poster presentations. Finally, we will offer Underrepresented Minority Undergraduate attendee awards to cover attendance at the meeting by interested URM undergraduates.

Elizabeth Young New Investigator Award is awarded to trainee members* that have a substantial story to tell regarding the effects of sex and/or gender on health and disease. A high point at OSSD annual meetings is the Elizabeth Young New Investigator Symposium, at which several young investigators (graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, or residents) are invited to present their research and receive an award in Dr. Young's honor. New Investigator award applicants will be required to submit their CV with the application. Award will cover meeting registration costs and include a $1000 USD honorarium. 4 Awards will be given.

Virtual Travel Awards are awarded to trainee members* and are determined based on average abstract review scores, and we will also take self-identified ethnic, gender or other identified minority status into consideration when deciding applications, as the OSSD is deeply committed to promoting and broadening diverse backgrounds and perspectives in our annual meeting. Applicants will be required to submit their CV with the application and a description of how they identify as URM, if applicable. We strongly encourage trainees from historically excluded or underrepresented minority groups to apply. 

NEW! Virtual travel award winners’ research will be highlighted in a 1 minute data blitz during the daily schedule of the meeting. These awards will cover registration.

NEW! First-Time Attendee Awards are awarded to first-time attendees of the OSSD annual meeting that will be presenting a poster. Applicants will be required to submit their CV with the application. Award will cover registration.

NEW! Underrepresented Minority Undergraduate attendee awards are awarded to undergraduate students from underrepresented minority groups (broadly defined, racial, ethnic, religious, gender, etc) that are interested in sex differences and would like to attend the meeting. In lieu of an abstract, students should provide a short paragraph describing 1) how they identify as an underrepresented minority and 2) why they are interested in attending the OSSD conference. Students should also submit a CV or resume as part of their application. These awards will cover registration for the meeting. Applicants do not need to become members to apply for this award.

Poster Awards:

Poster Awards are to recognize the most outstanding poster presentations decided at the meeting by the Awards Committee. All poster presentations by trainee members (undergraduates, graduate students, postdocs/residents) are eligible. The competition will be stratified by training phase, with 3 undergraduate student, 3 graduate student, and 3 postdoctoral fellow/resident awards given. Awards will be $200 USD.

Canadian Institute for Health Research Poster Awards will also be offered to trainees affiliated with Canadian research labs, in recognition of the best integration of sex and gender based analyses into their research study.  3 awards will be given. Awards will be $250 CAD.

*to be to be eligible for trainee awards, you must be an undergrad, PhD/MD student or a Postdoctoral Fellow/Resident. Faculty (such as Assistant Professors) are not eligible for these awards.


See more information about the these awards:

View our previous award recipients!